NRL Immortals: The cases for inclusion

When the sun sets on Johnathan Thurston's career, it seems inevitable the North Queensland, Maroons and Kangaroos superstar will be given Immortal status as one of rugby league's all-time greats.

It's not so much a matter of if, but when.

But the more pertinent question may be whether Thurston deserves to become an Immortal ahead of fellow modern-day champions like Darren Lockyer, Brad Fittler, Mal Meninga and Peter Sterling, not to mention accomplished contemporaries Cameron Smith, Greg Inglis and Billy Slater?

Here are the leading contenders for immortal status.



• Clive Churchill (inducted 1981)
• Reg Gasnier (1981)
• Bob Fulton (1981)
• Johnny Raper (1981)
• Graeme Langlands (1999)
• Wally Lewis (1999)
• Arthur Beetson (2003)
• Andrew Johns (2012)


(Photos: Getty Images, Photosport and Supplied)